The department implements the requirements of the federal Clean Air Act, which sets standards called National Ambient Air Quality Standards to protect public health and welfare. The standards are set for the six criteria pollutants, ozone, sulfur dioxide, nitrogen dioxide, carbon monoxide, lead and particulate matter. Missouri monitors the ambient air for the criteria pollutants and if monitoring data shows that an area does not meet the standard a plan is developed to address emissions that contribute to the problem. Weekly, monthly or quarterly air monitoring data is available within the pollutants web pages below. Learn more about Missouri Air Trends, which includes emissions reported by large point sources.

Eight-hour standard
Rolling three-month average evaluated over a 3-year period
Sulfur Dioxide
One-hour standard
Carbon Monoxide
One-hour and eight-hour standards
Particulate Matter
Annual and 24-hour PM 2.5 standards and 24-hour PM 10 standard
Nitrogen Dioxide
One-hour and annual standards
Hazardous Air Pollutants (HAPs)
Air pollutants known or suspected to cause cancer or other serious health impacts
Area Sources and Standards
Area sources of hazardous air pollutants and why they are regulated
Vapor Recovery
Capturing gasoline vapors in Kansas City and St. Louis
Related Resources
Helpful links and additional resources
Kansas City Camera
Photo captures from live webcam of Kansas City air quality
St. Louis Camera
Photo captures from live webcam feed of St. Louis air quality