Missouri is divided into 20 solid waste management districts. The districts were created to foster regional cooperation between cities and counties in managing solid waste. The districts help plan and implement recycling services and other alternatives to waste disposal at the local level. They also administer waste reduction, reuse, recycling and composting grants to support these efforts. Funding for the districts is provided from the tonnage fees paid at Missouri landfills and transfer stations that transfer waste out of state. These funds are received by the department's Waste Management Program. The department allocates the funds to the districts based on a statutory formula. The districts submit grants to the department for approval and the funds are then paid to the districts based on the grant amounts. The districts then award grants to various entities including local governments, small and large businesses, schools, sheltered workshops, not-for-profit organizations and individuals to support activities to recycle, compost, reuse, reduce waste and educate the public on these topics.

Other Information:

Choose a county from the dropdown list below and click "Submit" to access information about the solid waste management district that serves that county.

The 20 solid waste management districts depicted on a map of Missouri